testimonials } The New York Otolaryngology Group


View video testimonials from our patients Click here


“As an actor, my voice is my main instrument. Thanks to the voice exercises that Christie taught me, I am able to work through even challenging gigs to keep my voice strong. When I hear or feel my voice getting stressed out, I find myself using these new strategies to bring my voice back to its normal quality.”

Kathleen Kelly
Actor, New York

“It was delightful working with Christie to improve the quality of my voice. As a teacher, I especially appreciated her exercises and advice that helped me speak more clearly and with less fatigue.”

Irene Gilman
Teacher at Fordham University, New York

“Thank you Christie, Dr. Gold…for helping me with my voice and swallowing problems. Therapy actually changed my life. Christie helped me rediscover my voice and significantly unblock my swallowing. She has given me the tools of self-empowerment and the confidence to use them.”

Elaine Waldman
Psychotherapist, New York

“When I was referred to speech therapy to treat my voice problem, I was skeptical it would help. I am skeptical no more. Through the high standard of care practiced by the New York (Voice) Center and the dedication of my speech therapist, I learned invaluable skills in ‘finding my voice’ and protecting my vocal cords. Thanks to the New York (Voice) Center I have returned to work full-time. I could not recommend their group more highly.”

Joyce Edwards
Business Research Specialist, New York


Dr. ApicellaDr. Sheila Apicella received her undergraduate degree at Barnard College in New York City. She then earned her medical degree from New York University School of Medicine. After a pre-residency fellowship in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery at St. Luke’s/Roosevelt Hospital in New York, Dr. Apicella continued her post-graduate training at SUNY-Stony Brook. She completed her residency at the University of Pittsburgh Eye and Ear Institute (recently ranked one of the top five programs in the country by U.S. News & World Report magazine).

Board certified in Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, Dr. Apicella focuses on minimally invasive endoscopic sinus surgery, management of sinus disease, head and neck surgery, sleep-disordered breathing, diseases of the ear and pediatric otolaryngology. She is an Assistant Attending physician at several New York City hospitals including Beth Israel Medical Center. She is also an Associate Attending at St. Barnabas Hospital in the Bronx where she is involved in the education of students and residents.

Dr. Apicella is member of the American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery, The American Medical Association, and the Bronx County Medical Society. She has been repeatedly recognized in the Guide to America’s Top Physicians in the New York Metro area.

Dr.Apicella Named Americas Top Physician

Dr. Apicella Named Americas Top Physician 2006 – 2014



Sheila Apicella named a Castle Connolly Top doctor in 2014 and 2015


I brought my 3 year old daughter to see Dr. Apicella for a second opinion regarding surgery. Dr. Apicella was kind, compassionate and spent an unheard of amount of time with me and my daughter (more time than her pediatrician spends with her)! She told us she did not need surgery- what a relief. She gave her medicine to combat reflux and she is feeling 100% better. Best experience and results I’ve had from a doctor in almost 40 years. Highly recommend her!


View articles by Dr Robert Pincus

Robert_Pincus MD

Dr. Pincus earned his medical degree from the University of Michigan Medical School. He completed his training at New York’s Lenox Hill Hospital and Mount Sinai Medical Center.

In addition to his private practice work, Dr. Pincus is an Associate Professor in the Department of Otolaryngology at New York Medical College and a Lecturer at Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Earlier in his career, Dr. Pincus was Vice Chairman at New York Medical College, Director of the Department of Otolaryngology at New York’s Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center, and Director of the Head and Neck Service at the New York Eye and Ear Infirmary. He has extensive teaching experience.

Dr. Pincus is a Fellow in the American College of Surgeons, the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, The American Rhinological Society, and the American Society for Head and Neck Surgery, as well as a Diplomate with the American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery. He is currently an active member in numerous professional associations, including the American Broncho-esophagologic Association; Physicians for Social Responsibility; Society for Ear, Nose and Throat Advances in Children; and Association of Physicians in AIDS Medicine.

Dr. Pincus has authored more than 40 articles and book chapters in the field of otolaryngology and shared his insights in presentations before dozens of prestigious professional organizations and medical staffs. He has frequently been recognized as one of metro New York’s leading otolaryngologists and sinus specialists by New York magazine, Castle Connolly Medical LTD, and Super Doctors.

Download a pdf of the Curriculum Vitae

Castle Connolly top doctor award 2015

Dr. Pincus has been selected as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor 2015


NY Super Doctors 2014

Dr. Pincus has once again been named a New York Super Doctor for 2014. This will be featured on Sunday, May 18, 2014 in The New York Times Magazine.



Dr. Pincus has been selected as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor 2014


Robert-Pincus-Best Doctors Placque

Dr. Pincus has been selected as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor 2013


New York Best Doctors: 1998, 1999, 2001

Castle Connolly Top Doctors: Ten Years

America’s Top Physicians: 2006, 2007, 2008

Recent Awards:  Castle Connolly Top Doctors 2011, 2012, New York Best Doctors 2012


Learn more About Dr. Scott Gold, NYOG Sinus Specialist

View questions asked by patients and our doctor’s answers


Never have I been to a more compassionate doctor in my life. Although he is a surgeon, and a EXCELLENT one at that- his demeanor is anything but that of a surgeon’s. He spends more time with me in office visits than my primary care doctor ever has! Great bed side manner. He seemed completely dedicated to correcting my many ENT problems- and he has!

Dr. Robert Pincus has been my doctor for many years now. I’ve recommended him to family, friends and neighbors without reservation and will continue to do so. Dr. Pincus is personable, loves sharing his extensive knowledge and expertise, and gently but firmly encourages his vast number of patients to take responsibility for their health and well~being. He practices what he preaches and is the best advertisement for his simple and effective preventative methods. He looks so healthy and happy to be alive! Dr. Pincus is compassionate, patient, caring, a great listener and sharer. He’s a fascinating man, whip~smart, knows his stuff… a world~renowned, top~rated physician. His staff is professional, efficient, effective and all very courteous, helpful and respectful. When I recently experienced severe financial hardship, he worked with me on fees not covered by insurance~such a rare, generous physician! God bless Dr. Pincus! He’s one of the very best there is!


Otosclerosis is a condition of the ear caused when an abnormal growth surrounds the tiny vibrating bones of the middle ear, resulting in conductive hearing loss. It typically affects the Stapes bone which, when immobilized, cannot properly conduct sound energy toward the inner ear.

Approximately 60 percent of otosclerosis cases are hereditary. While it is seen across ethnic groups, it is most common in Caucasians between 20 and 45 years of age. Women are twice as likely to be affected as men and, once affected, often experience accelerated hearing loss during pregnancy.


Hearing loss is the primary symptom of otosclerosis. The hearing loss may be in one or both ears. It usually begins with mild loss, but often increases over time. Patients with otosclerosis may also suffer tinnitus, a ringing or rushing sound in the affected ear. Balance problems such as dizziness, vertigo, and unsteadiness may also occur, but are far less common.


Patients with possible otosclerosis are first given a hearing test. However, as hearing loss can be caused by a number of disorders, a CT scan may sometimes be recommended.


The good news is that conductive hearing loss due to otosclerosis is reversible, in most cases, with a surgical procedure known as a laser stapedotomy. Part of the Stapes is removed and replaced with a prosthesis that, once in place, allows the bones of the middle ear to move properly, thus restoring conductive function to the ear.

At NYOG, Dr. Sperling uses a specialized laser stapedotomy technique that includes vein grafting in order to eliminate post-operative vertigo, which is common after more traditional stapedectomy procedures. This technique is 90 percent to 95 percent effective at restoring the ability to hear, often immediately after surgery.

As an alternative to stapedectomy (surgery), traditional hearing aids can correct the hearing loss associated with otosclerosis. In some cases, a sodium fluoride treatment may also be prescribed to slow the progression of the disease.

Download: Surgery for Hearing Restoration, by Dr. Neil Sperling


Life Changing! Due to Otosclerosis I have worn hearing aids over 15 years. During that time I went from a mild loss to a severe loss. In June, 2015 Dr. Sperling performed a stapedoctomy on my left ear. The results are amazing having gotten back about 90% of my hearing. Dr, Sperling’s skill as a surgeon are matched by his compassion and reassuring manner. Although he’s done this procedure countless times, I never felt like just a number. The initial consultation, sitting with me a few minutes before the operation, and personally calling me the day after all proved his dedication and care for his patients. I highly recommend Dr, Sperling and his team and look forward to having the same experience with my right ear in September.

Dr. Sperling performed a Stapedoctomy to treat my Otosclerosis. He made me feel at ease since my first consultation with him. He explained my condition thoroughly and even showed me a power point presentation. On the day of the surgery he met with me right before the surgery to see if I had any questions and just sat by my side for a few minutes, which was very comforting. Once the Surgery was completed he took the time to go to a different floor to find my wife to let her know that everything went well. The day after the surgery he called me himself to see how I was feeling. On top of this great experience I was able to hear again!!!



Lane-Krevitt-MD portraitDr. Lane Krevitt is a board certified Otolaryngologist – Head and Neck Surgeon, who specializes in Head and Neck Oncology Surgery, including Thyroid and Parathyroid Surgery and Endoscopic Sinus Surgery. He is the director of Head & Neck Surgery, Thyroid and Parathyroid disease at the New York Otolaryngology group. He received his undergraduate degree at Tufts University in Boston and his medical degree from Hahnemann University School of Medicine in Philadelphia. He completed his Internship in General Surgery and Residency training in Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery at Albert Einstein College of Medicine / Montefiore Medical Center in New York City.  Dr. Krevitt also completed a Fellowship in Head and Neck Oncology and Endocrine Surgery (Thyroid and Parathyroid) at Montefiore Medical Center, under the direction of Dr. Carl Silver, M.D., a pioneer in the field of Head & Neck Surgery and Laryngology.

Dr. Krevitt is an Attending physician at Mt Sinai/ Beth Israel Medical Center and Montefiore Medical Center. He has an academic appointment as Assistant Clinical Instructor and member in the Department of Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, at Beth Israel Medical Center, Manhattan campus, Albert Einstein College of Medicine. Castle Connelly Guide has recognized Dr. Krevitt as one of New York’s leading Otolaryngologists for many years. He has also consistently been included in Super Doctors, as seen in the New York Times Magazine. He was also included in the “Best Doctors” edition in New York Magazine in 2010 and 2013. He has also been consistently been included in America’s Top Physicians and recipient of Patients Choice Award. Dr. Krevitt is a participant in the Beth Israel Continuum Head and Neck Tumor Board in New York City that meets weekly, discussing treatment planning with many of the other leading Head & Neck cancer specialists in our region.

Dr. Krevitt has published and presented at numerous meetings both regionally and nationally on a wide array of topics. In addition, he co-authored the chapter, “Morpho-Physiology of the Thyroid and Parathyroid Glands,” in Science Review for Otolaryngology, published by Thieme. He is a member of the American Academy of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery, New York Head and Neck Society, American Rhinologic Society.

Dr. Krevitt treats many types of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck conditions. He has expertise in Minimally Invasive Surgeries of the Head & Neck and Sinuses. His area of special interest includes:

Thyroid / Parathyroid Disease
Image Guided Minimally Invasive Sinus Surgery
Comprehensive management of Sinus/Nasal Disease
Cancers of the Larynx
Cancers of the Head & Neck
Sleep Apnea


2014 Plaque

Dr. Krevitt has been selected as America’s Top Physicians 2014



Dr. Krevitt has been selected as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor 2014


Named a Castle Connolly Top Doctor, and New York Magazine Best Doctor 2013

Super doctors 2013 logo

Dr. Krevitt has been named a New York Super Doctor for 2013. Featured on May 19, 2013 in The New York Times Magazine.

Super Doctors: 2008-2011
New York Magazine’s Best Doctors: 2010-2013

Best Doctors®: 2008-2013
Castle Connolly New York’s Top Doctors: 2006-2013
America’s Top Physicians: 2003-2012


Recent Awards:
Castle Connolly Top Doctors (5 years)
Patient’s Choice 2008-2010


Dr. Krevitt is a phenomenal doctor — the best thyroid cancer doctor in the country. And also an incredibly kind and caring person. When I was in need of cancer surgery specialist for thyroid cancer, I asked everyone I could who was the best, and I was repeatedly told to go to Dr. Krevitt. And I am so fortunate that they did. He saved my father’s life. He quickly diagnosed the issue, and the surgery was a perfect success. I whole-heartedly recommend Dr. Krevitt. Surgery is scray, especially throat cancer surgery. So, it was important to have the best doctor. My whole family is incredibly lucky to have found Dr. Krevitt. And, because we did, we also will be incredibly lucky to have our father around for many years to come.

After going through all the specialists I was sent to in Ontario Canada I was told they couldn’t find the cause or fix my sinuses and I had to live with it and take pain killers. I contacted the office of Dr. Krevitt and found the entire staff very helpful and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to work with me for a resolution. Dr. Krevitt not only figured out the issue on the first appointment he did surgery and in a one hour surgery was able to fix everything our doctors had given up on. I had forgotten how amazing it felt to be able to breath and sleep an entire night. The quality of service was so amazingly professional and courteous that I am unable to put It into words. Thanks to everyone at your facility, you gave me a quality life back.


Scott Gold, MD

Dr. Gold received his M.D. degree from Mount Sinai School of Medicine in New York, where he is currently an Assistant Clinical Professor of Otolaryngology. He completed his residency training in General Surgery and Otolaryngology at Mount Sinai Medical Center. Dr. Gold was formerly Chief of Otolaryngology at Beth Israel Medical Center, North Division.

Dr. Gold has been recognized numerous times by New York magazine and Castle Connelly Medical LTD as one of the New York area’s leading otolaryngologists and sinus specialists. He is board certified by the American Board of Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery.

An active lecturer, Dr. Gold has presented before many prestigious medical bodies. He has organized and taught at several postgraduate endoscopic sinus surgery courses for Otolaryngologists. He is a member of the American Medical Association, the New York Medical Society, the American Rhinological Society and The American Academy of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.

Dr. Gold is an attending physician at major New York teaching hospitals, including Beth Israel and Lenox Hill Hospital.

Dr. Gold’s AWARDS

Dr. Gold has been selected as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor 2010-2015

Dr. Gold has been selected as a Castle Connolly Top Doctor 2010-2015

Dr Gold named A New York Magazine Top Doctor

Named A New York Magazine Top Doctor: 2001, 2009, 2013

Castle Connelly Best Doctor Award Ten Years

Castle Connolly America’s Top Doctors: 10 Years

Dr Gold is NY Magazine Best Doctor

NY Magazine Best Doctors: 1998, 1999, 2002-2012

Dr Gold awarded Patient's Choice Award for Most Compassionate Doctor

Patient’s Choice Award for Most Compassionate Doctor: 2010, 2011

Learn more about Dr. Robert Pincus, NYOG Sinus Specialist

Read questions from patients and our doctor’s answers


It doesn’t get any better than this. I came for a second opinion regarding sinus surgery- which I was told I needed by more than one ENT MD previously. The staff was professional and accommodating. They even worked with me to keep the cost of my appointment down! The entire office was very advanced technologically- I even got a copy of the Dr. Gold’s notes to take home! Dr. Gold was genuine and on time! And you could definitely tell that he knows his stuff. AND It turns out I do not need sinus surgery, I have reflux! 5 star medical care, I didn’t know there was such a thing but apparently there is!

Took very sick husband to see Dr. Gold, following visit to internist, who said husband needed to be seen immediately by a specialist. Though late in the day, with patients still being seen, Dr. Gold and his staff spent about an hour with us, and my husband improved greatly over the next few days, confirmed by a follow-up visit which was also very thorough. Dr. Gold is very knowledgeable and experienced, warm and thorough, and really listens to his patients. I have seen him over the years, and recommend him unreservedly.


Why choose Dr. Horn?

Cori-Horn-MD-PortraitDr. Horn focuses on harmonious results that fit the rest of your core features. She will personally evaluate you and determine what the best treatment or combination of treatments is appropriate. She will also evaluate your medical history to be sure you are a candidate for cosmetic surgery. While plastic surgery is increasingly common, it is still surgery, and every precaution should be taken to assure safe anesthesia, and meticulous intra- and post-operative care. She works only with Board-certified anesthesiologists in accredited operating facilities.

Dr. Horn will discuss at length all the risks, benefits, and alternatives for different treatments and surgeries. She will show you realistic and achievable results using computer imaging to morph your photographs. This is the beginning of your cosmetic dialog with Dr. Horn–an excellent communication tool to ensure your intended surgical goals are clear and that natural results will be achieved. Furthermore, she has extensive expertise in the area of nasal surgery and can evaluate associated symptoms of facial pain, pressure, headaches, frequent sinus infections and nasal obstruction, all of which can be treated simultaneously with cosmetic nasal surgery. If these symptoms are left untreated, they may be exacerbated by cosmetic nasal surgery.

What is Plastic Surgery?

Facial plastic surgery is the reconstruction and repair of physical deformities that may be present at birth or caused by injuries, disease, or aging. The goal of facial plastic surgery is to restore and improve both function and appearance by removing or repositioning facial tissue. This may be achieved by several techniques, including surgical incision and excision, electrosurgery, dermabrasion, and chemical application and injection.

Realistic Expectations are Important

It is important that you have realistic expectations regarding facial plastic surgery. Surgery can improve your appearance or correct a physical dysfunction, but it will not result in an entirely new face. The goal of surgery is simply to restore function, or to enhance appearance and improve facial harmony and balance. Facial features can be refined but not totally changed. Furthermore, facial plastic surgery will not solve personal problems or give you a miraculous transformation into an absolute perfection. You should not expect to be a totally different person, this is beyond the reach of facial plastic surgery.

Surgical procedures and their recovery can be somewhat variable among individuals. Unlike a trip to the gym or beauty salon, you must expect temporary swelling, discoloration, and other minor discomforts. You must realize that surgery is not an exact, predictable science. The scope of improvement may not live up to all of your expectations. Surgical success depends not only on the surgeon’s skills, but also on your age, health, skin texture, bone structure and specific needs.


Dr. Horn is an incredible person and doctor. Her consultation was helpful and she was very informative, answering a long list of questions I had. I had to have 3 surgeries done the same day, coordinated with another doctor, and it was much easier than I imagined. I also had her personal email and cell. Surgery went flawlessly..had a rhinoplasty and barely any bruising. She called me everyday for 3 days to check up on me (while she was on vacation) after surgery. My nose makes me happy everyday and I just had my final follow up with her! At this point, Dr. Horn seems like more of a friend than doctor. Her staff is sweet and friendly and organized and I would do the whole thing a million times over if I had the opportunity!

Dr. Horn is A GREAT DOCTOR. If you use or want to use botox, you should go to her. She did exactly what I asked her to do–make me look NATURAL, but younger. She is extremely professional, yet caring. I would have any procedure done by her, because she exudes confidence in a non- pretentious way, and every time I have been to her I have LOVED THE RESULTS